# **Alternative Reference Rates Committee (ARRC)**

# Minutes for the September 8, 2021 Meeting

The ARRC Chair welcomed participants to the virtual meeting and noted a number of recent, relevant publications. These included a <u>response</u> from regulators to an April <u>letter</u> sent from the Association for Financial Professionals, the National Association of Corporate Treasurers and the US Chamber of Commerce's Center for Capital Markets Competitiveness on the LIBOR transition as well as the recent <u>IOSCO statement</u> on credit sensitive rates.

Brunswick presented an update on their 2021 Communications Plan including progress on goals and initiatives set earlier this year and upcoming priorities for the fall.

The Legal Working Group provided an update on the status of federal legislation. While emphasizing the critical importance of having a federal legislative solution, the Working Group Chairs mentioned that work to promote potential legislation in other states was also ongoing in the event such an approach is needed. The Chairs also noted the upcoming Legal Working Group meeting to discuss a draft of FAQs on the New York state LIBOR <u>legislation</u> to help address commonly asked questions by the public.

Members discussed progress that the ARRC has made concerning its recommended spreadadjusted fallbacks. ARRC members also discussed the final details of recommendations that need to be set out in connection with the New York legislation for 1-week and 2-month USD LIBOR. Members were also requested to provide any feedback on these issues.

ARRC members were reminded that the second phase of the CFTC MRAC's <u>SOFR First</u> trading convention switches is planned for <u>cross-currency basis swaps</u> between US dollar, Japanese Yen, sterling, and Swiss franc LIBOR. The target date for the cross-currency swaps convention switch is September 21, 2021. Members then discussed the broader SOFR First initiative, noting continued signs of progress and positive momentum since the July 26 <u>convention switch</u>.

Finally, ARRC members discussed whether there are additional priorities the ARRC should pursue as part of its mandate to develop voluntary recommendations to help facilitate an orderly transition to alternative rates heading into year-end, in line with US supervisory guidance which calls for banks to cease entering into new USD LIBOR activity as soon as practicable and no later than end 2021. Members were asked to provide input on key priorities with this in mind.

The ARRC Chair closed the meeting by thanking everyone and reminding everyone of the next ARRC meeting to be held October 13<sup>th</sup> via Webex.

\* \* \*

In a follow-up call on October 4, ARRC members continued the discussion on the year-end outlook agenda item. Member discussions focused on how to promote a proactive, strategic plan to reduce new LIBOR contracts in line with supervisory guidance related to ceasing new LIBOR activity by year-end.

## Attendance at the September 8, 2021 Meeting

#### **ARRC Members**

American Bankers Association Association for Financial Professionals Bank of America Bank of America Bank of America CME Group **CRE Finance Council CRE Finance Council** Citigroup Citigroup Citigroup Comerica **Deutsche Bank Deutsche Bank** Equitable Fannie Mae Fannie Mae Federal Home Loan Bank Office of Finance Federal Home Loan Bank of New York Federal Home Loan Bank of New York Ford Motor Company Freddie Mac Freddie Mac Freddie Mac **Goldman Sachs Goldman Sachs Government Finance Officers Association** HSBC Huntington Intercontinental Exchange International Swaps and Derivatives Association JP Morgan Chase & Co. JP Morgan Chase & Co. JP Morgan Chase & Co. KKR LCH Loan Syndications and Trading Association Loan Syndications and Trading Association MetLife MetLife MetLife

Hu Benton Tom Hunt Greg Todd Janet Choi Sonali Theisen Agha Mirza Raj Aidasani Sairah Burki Jeannine Hyman Josie Evans Tania (Yuanyuan) Yue Dave J Shipka Adam Eames Kayam Rajaram Julien Zusslin Bob Ives Wells Engledow Kyle Lynch Phil Scott Rei Shinozuka Jason Behnke Ameez Nanjee **Guim Barbour Michelle Thomas** Alan Farrell **Guillaume Helie** Pat McCoy Shirley Hapangama **Beth Russell** Harvey Flax Ann Battle Alice Wang **Emilio Jimenez** John Van Etten **Tal Reback** Phil Whitehurst Meredith Coffey **Tess Virmani Alex Strickler** Joe Demetrick William Ding

**Morgan Stanley Morgan Stanley** Morgan Stanley **Morgan Stanley Morgan Stanley** National Association of Corporate Treasurers PNC PNC Pacific Investment Management Company Prudential Financial **Prudential Financial** Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Structured Finance Association TD Bank **US Chamber of Commerce** Wells Fargo Wells Fargo World Bank Group

### **Ex-Officio ARRC Members**

**Commodity Futures Trading Commission Consumer Financial Protection Bureau** Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Federal Housing Finance Agency Federal Reserve Bank of New York Federal Reserve Board of Governors Office of Financial Research Office of the Comptroller of the Currency U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Maria Douvas-Orme Matt Ochs Paige Mandy Tom McCrocklin Tom Wipf Tom Deas Alexander Spiro Andrew Wilson Jerry Woytash Chris Mcalister Gary Horbacz Chris Killian **Rob Toomey** Kristi Leo Priya Misra Kristen Malinconico Alexis Pederson Brian Grabenstein Don Sinclair

Alicia Lewis Abhishek Agarwal Irina Leonova **Daniel Coates Caitlin Briglio** Cam Fuller Caren Cox Fatima Madhany Jamie Pfeifer Megan Zirinsky Nathaniel Wuerffel **Ray Check** Scott Sherman William Riordan David Bowman **Erik Heitfield** Evan Winerman Jeffrey Huther Robert kahn Ang Middleton Chelo DeVenecia **Richard Perrelli** Mike Nardacci

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission U.S. Treasury U.S. Treasury

### Observers

Bank of Canada BlackRock BNP Paribas Brunswick Brunswick Brunswick Cadwalader Deloitte Ernst & Young Morgan Lewis Oliver Wyman Jason Leung Michelle Danis Tamara Brightwell Daniel Harty Neha Shah

Sheryl King Alex Krol Simon Winn Catherine Hicks Jeanmarie McFadden Patrick Rutherford Lary Stromfeld Alexey Surkov John Boyle Jon Roellke Adam Schneider