Consumer Advisory Council Appointments for 2009
January 7, 2009
Circular No. 12055

The Federal Reserve Board has named ten new members to its Consumer Advisory Council for three-year terms and designated a new chair and vice chair of the Council for 2009.

The Council advises the Board on the exercise of its responsibilities under the Consumer Credit Protection Act and on other matters in the area of consumer financial services.  The Council meets three times a year in Washington, D.C.

Edna Sawady was designated chair; her term runs through December 2009.  Ms. Sawady is an economic inclusion consultant in New York, New York.

Michael D. Calhoun was designated vice chair; his term on the Council ends in December 2010.  Mr. Calhoun is president of the Center for Responsible Lending in Durham, North Carolina.

See the press release for full details.

Press release offsite