PAYMENTS RISK COMMITTEE

Thursday, October 28, 2021

12:00 – 1:30 p.m.

Meeting Minutes

1. PRC administration

- PRC Executive Sponsor Christopher Armstrong presided over the meeting as interim
 Chair and welcomed three new Parent Committee members. Michael Fossaceca of Citi
 succeeds Manish Kohli. Steve Max joins as a new member following the addition of US
 Bank to the committee. And, George Umstead of Bank of America succeeds Paul
 Simpson.
- Mr. Armstrong then called for nominations from the Parent Committee for the position of PRC Chair, which should be sent in writing to the Executive Sponsor by November 19.

2. Guest Speaker on CPMI Cross-border payments roadmap

- Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) Representative Hampton
 Finer of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York (New York Fed) presented building blocks
 of interest in the CPMI's Cross Border Payments Programme.
- Committee members were encouraged to respond to the CPMI's <u>request for ideas</u> on the expansion of PvP.
- The work programme will continue to be implemented in the coming years; and, the CPMI welcomes feedback from the industry.

3. ISO 20022 Update

- Dan DeLuca and Gina Sellitto of the FRS Wholesale Product Office led a conversation around industry readiness following the October 4 Federal Reserve Board announcement of the adoption of the ISO[®] 20022 message format for the Fedwire[®] Funds Service. The Federal Reserve has invited comments on eight questions regarding implementation and timing, and testing and backout strategy, included in the Federal Register Notice (FRN).
- Public comments following the 2018 ISO 20022 FRN, reflecting industry perspectives on a range of issues related to implementation, <u>can be found on the FRS Board of Governors' website</u>.
- In response to a committee member question regarding how the FRS is engaging with
 the vendor community to ensure they can adequately support ISO 20022 migration, Ms.
 Sellitto replied that Federal Reserve Financial Services is engaging with vendors on its
 public listing of <u>software vendors that offer products that interface with the Fedwire
 Funds Service</u>. Committee members were encouraged to refer to the list and submit
 vendors that are not listed.

4. Update on existing PRC Projects

Update on Expanded Hours Working Group

- Expanded Hours Working Group Lead Mark Haley updated the committee on the group's completed work, including a <u>whitepaper outlining considerations</u> for expanding Fedwire Funds Service operating hours.
- Update on Systemically Important Payments (SIPS) project
 - SIPS Project Lead Beth Geller provided an update on the group's engagement which includes work on industry wide efforts to be prepared in the event of an outage.

5. AOB

- PRC Secretariat Head Sishush Maru announced the next PRC meeting—a planning meeting outlining 2022 priorities—is tentatively planned for December 2021.
- Ms. Maru also reminded the committee that the Secretariat will be updating the PRC charter and emergency call guide, for PRC member review, with opportunity to object.

Participants List

Member Bank Attendees:

Bank of America

George Umstead Barry Vanlandingham Mariano Buitrago

Bank of New York Mellon

Matt Wells

Citi

Michael Fossaceca

Mark Haley

Deutsche Bank

Graham Warner Steven Weinstock

Goldman Sachs

Augustin Romo Jeffrey Hannan Michael Sklow

HSBC Bank

Thomas Halpin George Rajah

JPMorgan Chase

Hubert JP Jolly Beth Geller

Morgan Stanley

Peter Akwaboah Erin McCourt

UBS

Barry Tebbutt

MUFG Bank

Brian Casey

US Bank

Steve Max

Wells Fargo & Company

Yoko Horio

Federal Reserve System Attendees:

Chris Armstrong, New York Fed, Executive Sponsor, interim Chair

Mark Gould, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Alison Liu, New York Fed

Amy Burr, New York Fed
Dan DeLuca, New York Fed
Gina Sellitto, New York Fed
Hampton Finer, New York Fed
Heidy Medina, New York Fed
Karen Kahrs, New York Fed
Laura Forman, New York Fed
Mark Fischer, New York Fed
Sishush Maru, New York Fed
Seaira Christian-Daniels, New York Fed

Aaron Compton, Federal Reserve Board Mark Magro, Federal Reserve Board

Dan Gonzalez, Chicago Fed

Luke Woodward, Kansas City Fed