Alternative Reference Rates Committee (ARRC) Minutes for the May 20, 2020 Meeting

The ARRC Chair noted that in previous meetings there had been consensus support for the ARRC to finalize and release its recommended best practices as a single, comprehensive document as soon as practicable to help support the industry's transition away from LIBOR. Federal Reserve staff highlighted changes made to the draft recommended best practices document since the last meeting in response to comments received by ARRC members and the ARRC discussed the potential timing of the release. ARRC members agreed that while the Covid-19 pandemic was still a prevalent concern, it was an appropriate time to release the recommendations in order to support the transition away from LIBOR in preparation for the expectation that LIBOR would no longer be guaranteed after end 2021, as recently reinforced by the FCA. The Chair opened a discussion on the latest draft and the proposed timing for publication after which the ARRC unanimously approved the proposal to move forward with the release of the Best Practices.

Brunswick provided an update on the work they have completed in the two month period since their engagement began on March 1. They highlighted key areas of engagement undertaken to broaden the outreach around the work of the ARRC, including themes in media coverage.

Members of the Legal working group provided an update on the status of the ARRC's proposal for New York State legislation since the New York State Legislature recessed at the beginning of April.

The chairs of the Operations/Infrastructure working group provided an update on its accomplishments to date and also discussed the work it would like to complete going forward. It was determined that the chairs would reach out to members of the ARRC in order to enlist some assistance in accomplishing its goals.

The Chair of the Business Loans working group provided an update on the group's progress toward developing a conventions matrix and refining the recommended hardwired fallback language for syndicated loans.

The ARRC secretariat discussed some high level principles and processes for upcoming work to launch the Request for Proposal processes in connection with the <u>2020 Objectives</u> related to selecting: 1) an administrator of an ARRC-recommended forward looking SOFR rate, and 2) an administrator to publish the ARRC's recommended spread adjustments and spread-adjusted rates.

In closing, the ARRC Chair noted that the next meeting will be June 24 via conference call and that he appreciates everyone's diligence as we continue to move forward with the transition.

Attendance at the May 20, 2020 Meeting*

ARRC Members

Fannie Mae

American Bankers Association Hu Benton Association for Financial Professionals Tom Hunt AXA Julien Zusslin Bank of America Sonali Theisen Bank of America **Greg Todd** BlackRock Jack Hattem Citigroup Dina Faenson Citigroup Jeannine Hyman **CME Group** Agha Mirza Comerica Dave Shipka **CRE Finance Council** Lisa Pendergast Sairah Burki **CRE Finance Council CRE Finance Council** Raj Aidasani Deutsche Bank **Greg Coutu** Deutsche Bank **Adam Eames**

Fannie Mae **Bob Ives** Federal Home Loan Bank **Phil Scott** Federal Home Loan Bank Rey Shinozuka Federal Home Loan Bank Kyle Lynch Ford Motor Company Ken Kinkade Ford Motor Company Nathan Herbert **Guim Barbour** Freddie Mac Freddie Mac Natan Gulia Freddie Mac Michelle Thomas Freddie Mac Ameez Nanjee **GE Capital** Michael Taets

Wells Engledow

Goldman Sachs Gigi Chavez de Arnavat

Goldman Sachs

Goldman Sachs

Guillaume Helie

Government Finance Officers Association

Government Finance Officers Association

Emily Brock

HSBC

Blair Selber

HSBC Shirley Hapangama

Huntington Beth Russell
Independent Community Bankers of America James Kendrick
Independent Community Bankers of America Chris Cole
Intercontinental Exchange Harvey Flax
International Swaps and Derivatives Association Ann Battle
International Swaps and Derivatives Association Katherine Darras

JP Morgan Chase & Co.

Alice Wang

JP Morgan Chase & Co. **Andrew Gray** JP Morgan Chase & Co. Katie Morgan JP Morgan Chase & Co. Perry Elbadrawi KKR Tal Reback LCH Phil Whitehurst

Loan Syndications and Trading Association Meredith Coffey MetLife Joe Demetrick MetLife Alex Strickler MetLife Kevin Budd

Morgan Stanley Maria Douvas-Orme Michele Goldstein Morgan Stanley

Morgan Stanley Matt Ochs Morgan Stanley Tom Wipf Morgan Stanley Paige Mandy **National Association of Corporate Treasurers** Tom Deas Pacific Investment Management Company Scott Goodman Pacific Investment Management Company Andre Wagner **PNC Andrew Wilson PNC** Alexander Spiro **Prudential Financial** Chris McAlister **Prudential Financial** Gary Horbacz Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Chris Killian Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association **Rob Toomey** Structured Finance Association Jennifer Earyes Structured Finance Association Kristi Leo TD Bank Greg Moore TD Bank Priya Misra Alexis Pederson Wells Fargo Brian Grabenstein

Ex-Officio ARRC Members

Wells Fargo

World Bank Group

Commodity Futures Trading Commission Sayee Srinivasan Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Abhishek Agarwal Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Irina Leonova Federal Housing Finance Agency **Dan Coates** Federal Reserve Bank of New York Justine Hansen Federal Reserve Bank of New York Cam Fuller Federal Reserve Bank of New York **Betsy Bourassa** Federal Reserve Bank of New York Justin Epstein Federal Reserve Bank of New York Fatima Madhany Federal Reserve Bank of New York Jamie Pfeifer Federal Reserve Bank of New York Jennifer Hur Federal Reserve Bank of New York Scott Nagel Federal Reserve Bank of New York Megan Zirinsky

Don Sinclair

Federal Reserve Bank of New York **Lindsay Collins** Federal Reserve Bank of New York Nathaniel Wuerffel Federal Reserve Bank of New York Ray Check Federal Reserve Bank of New York William Riordan Federal Reserve Board of Governors **David Bowman** Federal Reserve Board of Governors Darren Gersh Federal Reserve Board of Governors Jeff Huther Federal Reserve Board of Governors Erik Heitfeld Federal Reserve Board of Governors Evan Winerman **National Association of Insurance Commissioners** Eric Kolchinsky New York State Department of Financial Services Steven Kluger Office of Financial Research Matt McCormick Office of the Comptroller of the Currency Ang Middleton U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Jose Fernandez U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Diego Leguizamon U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission David Metzman U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Michelle Danis U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Tamara Brightwell U.S. Treasury **Chloe Cabot** U.S. Treasury Peter Phelan

Observers

Bank of Canada Sheryl King **BNP Paribas** Simon Winn **Boston Consulting Group** Roy Choudhury **Brown & Weinraub David Weinraub Brunswick** Pauline Blondiaux **Brunswick** Alex Masi Casey Gunkel **Brunswick Brunswick Catherine Hicks Brunswick** Jeanmarie McFadden **Brunswick** Aziz Nayani Cadwalader Lary Stromfeld

Deloitte Alexey Surkov
Morgan Lewis Jon Roellke
Morgan Lewis Jonathan Justl
Oliver Wyman Adam Schneider
Venerable Charles Schwartz

^{*}This meeting was held via conference call.