Alternative Reference Rates Committee (ARRC) Minutes for the June 24, 2020 Meeting

The ARRC Chair welcomed everyone and thanked them for their continued active participation during these unprecedented times and encouraged everyone to continue their engagement and interaction during the virtual meetings. Members were reminded that relevant materials from the Credit Sensitivity Group workshops are posted on the New York Fed's website and that the comments to the Treasury on the possibility of issuing a SOFR-linked floating rate note are due by July 6. In addition, an update was provided on the recent Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) announcement on its intent to bring forward legislation to amend the Benchmarks Regulation.

Brunswick provided an update on the planning for a new format for the ARRC Roundtable to accommodate the remote working environment. This year's event will include a series of webcasts on topics related to the LIBOR transition which will be held over the course of July and August.

The ARRC Chair thanked members for providing feedback on the <u>supplemental spread adjustment</u> <u>consultation</u> on the technical details of the ARRC's recommended spread adjustment, specifically on whether the ARRC recommendation should utilize ISDA's recommended spread adjustment *methodology* or spread adjustment *value* that is calculated from the ISDA approach. The ARRC received 49 responses to its supplemental consultation from a mix of banks, government-sponsored entities, asset managers, insurance companies, and industry associations. A clear majority of respondents to the consultation favored a recommendation of the same spread adjustment *values* as ISDA and respondents were unanimous that the timing of the ARRC recommendation on spread adjustments should align with timing of the ISDA spread adjustment. The ARRC approved the two technical details resulting from the consultation and a <u>press release</u> was subsequently released.

The ARRCchair provided a high level overview of the responses received on the <u>private student loan fallback language consultation</u>. The ARRCreceived 11 responses from consumer advocacy groups, lenders and loan servicers active in the student loan market, associations representing education finance organizations, and other institutions. In line with the majority of responses, the ARRC's final recommendations have retained the language proposed in the consultation with certain technical adjustments. The ARRCapproved the recommendations resulting from the consultation and <u>final recommended fallback language</u> was subsequently published.

Members of the Consumer Products working group provided updates on various workstreams under way. Since the meeting, the <u>conventions for student loans</u> was published.

The Chair of the Business Loans working group provided an update on the group's progress toward developing conventions and refining the recommended hardwired fallback language for syndicated loans. The updated hardwired fallback language was subsequently published.

The co-Chairs of the Securitizations/CLO working group provided an update on the conventions for their asset class. The document is expected to be published in the near future.

The ARRCChair provided a further update on the launch of the Request for Proposal processes in connection with the 2020 Objectives related to selecting: 1) an administrator of an ARRC-recommended

forward looking SOFR rate, and 2) an administrator to publish the ARRC's recommended spread adjustments and spread-adjusted rates. He noted that an email was sent requesting volunteers to participate in the process and encouraged members to respond.

In closing, the ARRC Chair noted that the next meeting will be August 5th via Webex and that he appreciates everyone's diligence as we continue to move forward with the transition.

Attendance at the June 24, 2020 Meeting*

ARRC Members

American Bankers Association Hu Benton Association for Financial Professionals Thomas Hunt AXA Julien Zusslin Bank of America Greg Todd* Bank of America Sonali Theisen* BlackRock Jack Hattem Citigroup Dina Faenson **CME Group** Agha Mirza CRE Finance Council Rai Aidasani CRE Finance Council Sairah Burki Deuts che Bank Adam Eames Deuts che Bank **Greg Coutu Ernst & Young** Marc Saidenberg

Fannie Mae Bob Ives

Fannie Mae Thomas Gargan Federal Home Loan Bank Kyle Lynch Federal Home Loan Bank of New York Rei Shinozuka* Jason Behnke Ford Motor Company Ford Motor Company Nathan Herbert Freddie Mac Ameez Nanjee Freddie Mac Guim Barbour Freddie Mac Michelle Thomas **Goldman Sachs** Guillaume Helie **Goldman Sachs** Jason Granet Government Finance Officers Association **Emily Brock**

HSBC Shirley Hapangama

Pat McCoy

Andrew Wilson

Government Finance Officers Association

PNC

Harvey Flax* Intercontinental Exchange Ann Battle International Swaps and Derivatives Association JP Morgan Chase & Co. Alice Wang Andrew Gray* JP Morgan Chase & Co. Emilio Jimenez* JP Morgan Chase & Co. JP Morgan Chase & Co. Keith Stephan* JP Morgan Chase & Co. Perry Elbadrawi Tal Reback KKR

Loan Syndications and Trading Association Meredith Coffey MetLife Alex Strickler MetLife Joe Demetrick Morgan Stanley Maria Douvas Matt Ochs* Morgan Stanley Tom Wipf Morgan Stanley National Association of Corporate Treasurers Tom Deas **PIMCO** Andrei Wagner **PNC** Alexander Spiro

Prudential Financial Chris McAlister Prudential Financial Gary Horbacz* Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Chris Killian Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Rob Toomey* Structured Finance Association Jen Earyes Structured Finance Association Kristi Leo TD Bank **Greg Moore** TD Bank Priya Misra Wells Fargo Alexis Pederson Wells Fargo Brian Grabenstein Wells Fargo Susan Hughes Don Sinclair* World Bank Group

Ex-Officio ARRC Members

Commodity Futures Trading Commission Sayee Srinivasan Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Abhishek Agarwal Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Irina Leonova Federal Housing Finance Agency Dan Coates Federal Reserve Bank of New York Betsy Bourassa Federal Reserve Bank of New York Fatima Madhany Federal Reserve Bank of New York Jamie Pfeifer Federal Reserve Bank of New York Jennifer Hur Federal Reserve Bank of New York Justin Epstein Federal Reserve Bank of New York Justine Hansen Federal Reserve Bank of New York Nate Dodge Federal Reserve Bank of New York Nate Wuerffel Federal Reserve Bank of New York Raymond Check Federal Reserve Bank of New York Scott Nagel

Federal Reserve Bank of New York Veronika Jastrzebski Federal Reserve Bank of New York William Riordan Federal Reserve Board of Governors Darren Gersh Federal Reserve Board of Governors David Bowman Federal Reserve Board of Governors Evan Winerman Federal Reserve Board of Governors Jeffrey Huther National Association of Insurance Commissioners Eric Kolchinsky New York State Department of Financial Services Steven Kluger* Office of Financial Research Matt McCormick* Kevin Walsh* Office of the Comptroller of the Currency U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Jose Fernandez U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission David Metzman U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Jason Leung U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Michelle Danis

Observers

U.S. Treasury

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Bank of Canada Harri Vikstedt

Tamara Brightwell

Peter Phelan

BNP Paribas Simon Winn Brunswick Pauline Blondiaux Cadwalader Jason Halper Cadwalader Lary Stromfeld Cadwalader Michael Sholem Consumer Bankers Association Tim Carey Alexey Surkov Deloitte Morgan Lewis Jon Roellke Oliver Wyman Adam Schneider Student Borrower Protection Center Ben Kaufman* Venerable Charles Schwartz

^{*}This meeting was held via WebEx; asterisk indicates participation by dial-in.