Alternative Reference Rates Committee (ARRC)

Minutes for the October 13, 2021 Meeting

The ARRC Chair welcomed participants to the virtual meeting and alerted ARRC members to the upcoming sixth <u>SOFR Symposium</u> on October 26.

John Williams, President of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, joined for the initial part of the meeting to discuss the transition's homestretch. President Williams noted that we are now in the most critical period of the transition, with the Federal Reserve and other regulators having released <u>guidance</u> encouraging supervised institutions to stop new use of LIBOR as soon as practicable, and in any event, by year-end. President Williams highlighted the importance of taking action now to avoid any last-minute issues that will inevitably arise at year-end.

On the year-end outlook, members discussed a <u>press release</u> recommending that all market participants act now to slow their use of USD LIBOR over the next six weeks to reduce such activity to promote a smooth end to new LIBOR contracts by the end of the year.

It was noted that the Market Risk Advisory Committee (MRAC) of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) is finalizing their recommendations for the third <u>phase</u> of the <u>SOFR</u> <u>First</u> trading convention switches, which is focused on non-linear derivatives.

ARRC members were reminded that Ice Benchmarks Administration (IBA) launched USD SOFR ICE Swap Rates and USD SOFR Spread-Adjusted ICE Swap Rates in beta form on October 1, 2021, and were encouraged to send any feedback on the rates to the IBA.¹

The Legal Working Group provided an update on the status of federal legislation. While emphasizing the critical importance of having a federal legislative solution, the Working Group Chairs noted that work to promote potential legislation in other states was also ongoing in the event such an approach is needed. Working group members then discussed a draft of ARRC recommended fallbacks for 1-week and 2-month USD LIBOR in connection with the New York legislation. ARRC members were asked to provide any feedback on these recommendations.

The Tax/Accounting Working Group and Regulatory Working Group provided updates on the work of their respective groups.

The ARRC Chair closed the meeting by thanking everyone and reminding everyone of the next ARRC meeting to be held November 17th via Webex.

¹ Following the meeting, IBA <u>announced</u> the launch of its US dollar SOFR ICE Swap Rate for use as a benchmark in financial contracts and financial instruments by licensees.

Attendance at the October 13, 2021 Meeting*

ARRC Members

American Bankers Association American Bankers Association Association for Financial Professionals Bank of America Bank of America Bank of America Bank of New York Mellon Bank of New York Mellon BlackRock CME Group **CRE Finance Council CRE Finance Council** Citigroup Citigroup Citigroup Comerica **Deutsche Bank Deutsche Bank** Equitable Fannie Mae Fannie Mae Federal Home Loan Bank Office of Finance Federal Home Loan Bank of New York Federal Home Loan Bank of New York Ford Motor Company Freddie Mac Freddie Mac Freddie Mac Freddie Mac **GE** Capital **Goldman Sachs** Goldman Sachs Government Finance Officers Association Government Finance Officers Association HSBC HSBC Huntington Independent Community Bankers of America Independent Community Bankers of America Intercontinental Exchange International Swaps and Derivatives Association

Andrew Guggenheim Hu Benton Tom Hunt Greg Todd Janet Choi Sonali Theisen Jason Granet Jeanne Naughton-Carr Jack Hattem Agha Mirza Raj Aidasani Sairah Burki Jeannine Hyman Josie Evans Tania (Yuanyuan) Yue Dave J Shipka Adam Eames Kayam Rajaram* Julien Zusslin **Bob** Ives Wells Engledow Kyle Lynch Phil Scott Rei Shinozuka Jason Behnke Ameez Nanjee Guim Barbour **Michelle Thomas** Tim O'Neill Fred Robustelli Alan Farrell **Guillaume Helie Emily Brock** Pat McCoy **Blair Selber** Shirley Hapangama **Beth Russell** Chris Cole Jenna.Burke Harvey Flax Ann Battle

JP Morgan Chase & Co. JP Morgan Chase & Co. JP Morgan Chase & Co. KKR LCH Loan Syndications and Trading Association Loan Syndications and Trading Association MetLife MetLife **Morgan Stanley** Morgan Stanley Morgan Stanley **Morgan Stanley Morgan Stanley** National Association of Corporate Treasurers PNC PNC Pacific Investment Management Company Prudential Financial **Prudential Financial** Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Structured Finance Association Structured Finance Association **TD Bank** TD Bank **US Chamber of Commerce** Wells Fargo Wells Fargo World Bank Group

Ex-Officio ARRC Members

Commodity Futures Trading Commission Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Federal Housing Finance Agency Federal Housing Finance Agency Federal Reserve Bank of New York Alice Wang **Emilio Jimenez** John Van Etten Tal Reback **Phil Whitehurst** Meredith Coffey Tess Virmani **Alex Strickler** Joe Demetrick Arlene Valerio Maria Douvas-Orme Matt Ochs Priva Bindra Tom Wipf Tom Deas **Alexander Spiro** Andrew Wilson Jerry Woytash **Chris Mcalister** Jason Pan Chris Killian Jennifer Earyes Kristi Leo Greg Moore Priya Misra Kristen Malinconico Alexis Pederson Brian Grabenstein Don Sinclair

Alicia Lewis Abhishek Agarwal Irina Leonova Daniel Coates Muna Sisay Betsy Bourassa Caitlin Briglio Cam Fuller Caren Cox Fatima Madhany Jamie Pfeifer John Williams Justine Hansen

Federal Reserve Bank of New York Federal Reserve Bank of New York Federal Reserve Bank of New York Federal Reserve Board of Governors Office of Financial Research Office of the Comptroller of the Currency Office of the Comptroller of the Currency U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission U.S. Treasury U.S. Treasury **U.S.** Treasury U.S. Treasury U.S. Treasury

Observers

BNP Paribas Bank of Canada BlackRock Brunswick Brunswick Cadwalader Cadwalader Davis Polk Deloitte Ernst & Young Morgan Lewis Nathaniel Wuerffel Ray Check Scott Sherman Darren Gersh David Bowman Erik Heitfield Evan Winerman Jeffrey Huther Robert Kahn Ang Middleton Kevin Walsh Mike Nardacci Jason Leung Michelle Danis **Brian Smith Daniel Harty** Dini Ajmani Joshua Frost Neha Shah

Simon Winn Sheryl King Alex Krol Jeanmarie McFadden Nathan Kline Pauline Blondiaux Lary Stromfeld Victor Bieger Lucy W. Farr Alexey Surkov Daniel Scrafford Jon Roellke

*This meeting was held via WebEx; asterisk indicates participation by dial-in.