Economic Policy Review

EPR image

The Review is a policy-oriented journal focusing on macroeconomic, banking, and financial market topics. It publishes new research by Federal Reserve Bank of New York economists, papers by affiliated economists, and the proceedings of Bank-sponsored conferences. The Review’s Executive Summaries series offers abridged versions of many articles.

Kenneth D. Garbade is the editor; Meta Brown, Richard Crump, Marco Del Negro, Jan Groen, Andrew Haughwout, and Stavros Peristiani are coeditors.

Browse the Economic Policy Review:  
Volume 20, Number 2   December
Special Issue: Large and Complex Banks
Download full book PDF  255 pages / 7,236 kb
Do Big Banks Have Lower Operating Costs?
Anna Kovner, James Vickery, and Lily Zhou
Evidence from the Bond Market on Banks’ “Too-Big-to-Fail” Subsidy
João A. C. Santos
Do “Too-Big-to-Fail” Banks Take On More Risk?
Gara Afonso, João A. C. Santos, and James Traina
Components of U.S. Financial-Sector Growth, 1950-2013
Samuel Antill, David Hou, and Asani Sarkar
Evolution in Bank Complexity
Nicola Cetorelli, James McAndrews, and James Traina
Measures of Global Bank Complexity
Nicola Cetorelli and Linda S. Goldberg
Matching Collateral Supply and Financing Demands in Dealer Banks
Adam Kirk, James McAndrews, Parinitha Sastry, and Phillip Weed
Bank Resolution Concepts, Trade-offs, and Changes in Practices
Phoebe White and Tanju Yorulmazer
The Failure Resolution of Lehman Brothers
Michael J. Fleming and Asani Sarkar
Why Bail-In? And How!
Joseph H. Sommer
What Makes Large Bank Failures So Messy and What Should Be Done about It?
James McAndrews, Donald P. Morgan, João A. C. Santos, and Tanju Yorulmazer
Volume 20, Number 1   February
Special Issue: The Stability of Funding Models
Download full book PDF  53 pages / 899 kb
Tanju Yorulmazer
PDF  2 pages / 40 kb
Literature Review on Stability of Funding Models
Tanju Yorulmazer
Case Studies on Disruptions during the Crisis
Tanju Yorulmazer
Stability of Funding Models: An Analytical Framework
Thomas Eisenbach, Todd Keister, James McAndrews, and Tanju Yorulmazer