Economic Research

New From Liberty Street Economics
Just Released: The 2013 SOMA Annual Report in a Historical Context
Today’s release of the New York Fed’s report Domestic Open Market Operations during 2013 offers an opportunity to update our blog series’ discussion of the SOMA portfolio’s income and unrealized gains and losses, and to revisit our counterfactual exercise exploring how the use of the portfolio to implement monetary policy has affected income.
By Alyssa Cambron, Michael Fleming, Deborah Leonard, Grant Long, and Julie Remache
Liquidity Policies and Systemic Risk
While bank regulation traditionally focuses on requiring a minimum amount of capital, liquidity requirements impose a minimum amount of liquid assets. The bloggers provide a conceptual framework that allows them to evaluate the impact of liquidity requirements on economic growth, the creation of systemic risk, and household welfare.
By Tobias Adrian and Nina Boyarchenko
Center for MicroEconomic Data  image
The Center for Microeconomic Data
This new research hub centralizes the wide-ranging microeconomic data, research, and analysis produced by the New York Fed.
Higher Education Map
For-Profits in the Higher Education Landscape
Interactive maps and charts shed light on the unprecedented growth, market share, student loans, tuition pricing, federal grants, and more for for-profit higher education institutions.
Recent Articles
Gates, Fees, and Preemptive Runs
The authors build a model of a financial intermediary, in the tradition of Diamond and Dybvig (1983), and show that allowing the intermediary to impose redemption fees or gates in a crisis—a form of suspension of convertibility—can lead to preemptive runs.
ByMarco Cipriani, Antoine Martin, Patrick McCabe, and Bruno M. Parigi , Staff Reports, Number 670, April 2014
Lights, Camera,...Income! Estimating Poverty Using National Accounts, Survey Means, and Lights
The authors propose a way to assess whether national accounts or survey means perform better in capturing differences in income across countries and over time, creating a new measure of income per capita that is an optimal combination of national accounts and survey means data.
By Maxim Pinkovskiy and Xavier Sala-i-Martin, Staff Reports, Number 669, April 2014
Measuring Student Debt and Its Performance
Student loans have come to play an increasingly important role in financing higher education, but they are not well understood. The authors bring a new data set to bear on this important issue and present a brief analysis of historical and current levels of student debt and how that debt is performing.
Meta Brown, Andrew Haughwout, Donghoon Lee, Joelle Scally, and Wilbert van der Klaauw, Staff Reports, Number 668, April 2014
Tools
Related New York Fed Content
Related External Content