The New York Fed:
Who We Are and What We Do

This page was last updated in July 2008 and is no longer being updated. Please see What We Do for current information on this subject.

  • At the direction of the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC), the top monetary policy-making group of the Federal Reserve System, the New York Fed conducts open market operations on behalf of the Federal Reserve System. The president of the New York Bank is a permanent voting member of the FOMC.
  • The New York Fed and the 11 other Federal Reserve Banks supervise depository institutions by issuing regulations and examining member banks to check their financial soundness.
  • The 12 Federal Reserve Banks provide depository institutions with various payment services, including collecting checks, electronically transferring funds, and distributing and receiving currency and coin.
  • The New York Fed engages in foreign exchange operations on behalf of the U.S. Treasury Department and the Federal Reserve System, as well as for some foreign central banks and international organizations. As part of its services for foreign and international institutions, the New York Reserve Bank stores monetary gold for dozens of countries.
The Federal Reserve Bank of New York is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks which, together with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC), the Federal Advisory Council, the Consumer Advisory Council, and the member banks, compose the Federal Reserve System. As the U.S. central bank, the Federal Reserve is responsible for formulating and executing monetary policy, supervising and regulating depository institutions, ensuring the smooth flow of payments, and providing banking services to the U.S. government and depository institutions.

Each of the 12 Reserve Banks supervises and regulates bank holding companies and state chartered banks in its District that are members of the Federal Reserve System. Each Reserve Bank also provides services to depository institutions in its District and functions as a fiscal agent of the U.S. government. The services the Banks perform include putting coin and currency into circulation; electronically transferring funds; selling Treasury notes, bills, and bonds; processing savings bonds, and redeeming food stamps.

The New York Fed serves the Second Federal Reserve District, which encompasses New York State; the 12 northern counties of New Jersey; Fairfield County, Connecticut., Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Though it serves a geographically small area compared with those of most other Federal Reserve Banks, the New York Fed is the largest Reserve Bank in terms of assets and volume of activity.

The New York Fed has a branch office in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The Fed's state-of-the-art operations center in East Rutherford, which opened in 1992, processes cash for the metropolitan New York and New Jersey area.

Unique Domestic Policy Functions
While the Federal Reserve Bank of New York has largely the same responsibilities as the 11 other Reserve Banks, it also has several unique responsibilities associated with its presence in the financial capital of the United States.

At the direction of the FOMC, the Federal Reserve's top monetary policy-making group, the New York Fed executes domestic open market operations on behalf of the System. Open market operations—the buying and selling of U.S. government securities in the secondary market—are the principal means through which the System implements monetary policy. Although the FOMC decides what policy to follow, the System's portfolio is directed, on a daily basis, by the Manager of the System Open Market Account at the New York Fed. The Manager, along with the rest of the Open Market Department, constantly monitors bank reserves and acts to ensure that the FOMC's directive is being fulfilled.

The FOMC is composed of the seven Board governors and five of the 12 Reserve Bank presidents, and meets eight times a year in Washington, D.C. The president of the New York Fed is a permanent voting member of the FOMC and traditionally is selected as its vice chairman. The other presidents serve one-year terms on a rotating basis. All of the presidents participate in FOMC discussions, but only the five who are members of the Committee vote on policy decisions.

Unique International Functions
In addition to its domestic trading desk responsibilities, the New York Fed, at the direction of the FOMC and U.S. Treasury, conducts all foreign exchange trading for the Treasury and the Federal Reserve System. In this role, the New York Fed intervenes in foreign exchange markets to achieve dollar exchange rate policy objectives and to counter disorderly conditions in foreign exchange markets.

The New York Fed also is responsible for maintaining relations with, and providing financial services for, foreign central banks and international organizations. One of these services is the New York Reserve Bank's unique custodial responsibility for the gold reserves of various countries, central banks and international organizations.

Foreign official gold reserves have been held at the New York Fed since 1924 for numerous reasons, including the stability of the U.S. political system, the concentration of international trade and finance in New York City, and the convenience of centralizing gold holdings in a place where international payments can be made quickly.

Video: An Overview
Related New York Fed Content
Fed Education
By continuing to use our site, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Statement. You can learn more about how we use cookies by reviewing our Privacy Statement.   Close