Banking Markets

Second Federal Reserve District Banking Markets
The Federal Reserve Bank of New York is responsible for assessing the potential anti-competitive effects resulting from bank mergers, branch sales or other changes in bank ownership within the Second Federal Reserve District. This assessment requires designating geographic markets within the Second District and monitoring the shares of market deposits held by top-tier bank holding companies operating in each market. Currently, we oversee 20 banking markets in the Second Federal Reserve District: 14 in the New York area, four in Puerto Rico and two in the U.S. Virgin Islands.

For details on the method by which Second District banking markets are defined and how those definitions changed after the 2010 Census, see 2nd District Banking Markets PDF. See map PDF of Second District. For a detailed list of Second District markets and market shares, see below.

Banking Markets and Definitions in the Second District PDF
40 pages / 5.82 mb

Related New York Fed Content