Media Advisory

New York Fed and Bank Indonesia to Co-Host Central Banking Forum in Indonesia

September 27, 2018

Updated on October 5, 2018 to account for changes in the start times of certain events and to add Deputy Governor Diwa Guinigundo, Bangko Sentral Ng Pilipinas to the panel discussion

The Federal Reserve Bank of New York and Bank Indonesia will co-host their second Central Banking Forum in Bali, Indonesia on October 10. During the conference, participants will share their views on the current macro and policymaking environment and how some of the broader global trends may be impacting their decision-making.

The first portion of the conference will be on the record and open to journalists to attend in-person. It will not be available via webcast. This portion of the day includes keynote remarks by New York Fed President John Williams and Bank Indonesia Governor Perry Warjiyo. Their remarks will be followed by a press briefing with President Williams and Governor Perry Warjiyo, and then a panel moderated by Simon Potter, New York Fed Executive Vice President and Head of Markets.

Details about the open press events are below. Information on the full conference and the agenda is available here.

Open Press Events (Date, location and registration contact is the same for all events listed below):

Information applicable to all open-press events below:
Date: October 10, 2018 WITA, local time (October 9 EDT for certain events)
Location: Hotel Conrad Bali
Jalan Pratama 168
Room: KECAK 2
Tanjung Benoa, Bali, 80363
Indonesia
Register: Members of the press who wish to attend must register in advance by contacting Betsy Bourassa at the New York Fed: betsy.bourassa@ny.frb.org or (212)-720-6885.

Remarks by New York Fed President John Williams
Subject: Recent Developments in U.S. Monetary Policy
Time: 9:10 a.m. WITA, local time (9:10 p.m. EDT on October 9)
Text is expected. Q&A with the audience only is expected.

Remarks by Bank Indonesia Governor Perry Warjiyo
Subject: Recent Developments in Indonesia
Time: 9:40 a.m. WITA, local time (9:40 p.m. EDT on October 9)

Press Briefing with President John Williams and Governor Perry Warjiyo
Time: 10:30 a.m. WITA, local time (10:30 p.m. EDT on October 9)
Q&A with journalists is expected. Text is not expected.

Panel discussion
Subject: Emerging Market Economies and Policy Responses to Recent Developments
Moderator: New York Fed Executive Vice President Simon Potter
Panel speakers:

  • Governor Lesetja Kganyago, South African Reserve Bank
  • Governor Alejandro Diaz de Leon, Banco de Mexico
  • Deputy Governor Diwa Guinigundo, Bangko Sentral Ng Pilipinas

Time: 11:00 a.m. WITA, local time (11:00 p.m. EDT on October 9)
Q&A is expected. Text is not expected.

Contact
Betsy Bourassa
(212) 720-6885
betsy.bourassa@ny.frb.org