Press Release
New York Fed President Dudley Visits Brooklyn to Provide a Status Update on the Recovery and to Learn about Local Economic Issues
June 10, 2011

NEW YORK—William C. Dudley, president of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, will visit Brooklyn today as part of the Bank’s efforts to strengthen ties with the local community and to discuss and listen to economic concerns from a variety of stakeholders in the Federal Reserve’s Second District.

President Dudley will deliver remarks about the regional economy, highlighting conditions in Brooklyn before members of the Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce. He is also expected to engage in a roundtable discussion with members of the Caribbean-American Chamber of Commerce and Industry and tour Crye Precision, a local manufacturer of apparel located at the Brooklyn Navy Yard.

Later in the day, New York Fed Executive Vice Presidents Edward Murphy and Joseph Tracy will visit Ferra Designs, an architectural metal fabrication and furniture design company; and tour Steiner Studios, the largest entertainment studios on the East Coast. Mr. Murphy and Mr. Tracy will also meet with other small business owners at the Brooklyn Navy Yard to discuss the economic issues they face as small business operators. Lastly, they will visit with staff at the Lutheran Medical Center to learn more about economic issues affecting the health care industry.

The visit to Brooklyn is consistent with the New York Fed’s interest in establishing new links and maintaining existing connections with key constituencies and communities in the Second Federal Reserve District.

About the Federal Reserve Bank of New York
The Federal Reserve Bank of New York is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks, which together with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System. The Federal Reserve is an independent governmental entity created by Congress in 1913 to serve as the central bank of the United States. The New York Fed oversees the Second Federal Reserve District, which includes New York State, the 12 northern counties of New Jersey, Fairfield County in Connecticut, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

By continuing to use our site, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Statement. You can learn more about how we use cookies by reviewing our Privacy Statement.   Close