Media Advisory

Report On Disaster-Affected Small Businesses Will Be Released On April 17, Following Record-Breaking Year Of Natural Disaster Damages

April 11, 2018

The Federal Reserve Banks of New York, Dallas, Richmond and San Francisco will issue the 2017 Small Business Credit Survey: Report on Disaster-Affected Firms at 2:00 PM EDT (1:00 PM CDT/11:00 AM PDT) on Tuesday, April 17.

This report is significant given record-breaking damages caused by natural disasters last year. Small businesses are a primary driver of U.S. job growth and their vitality is essential to post-disaster recovery.

The report examines the business conditions, insurance coverage, and credit environment of small businesses located in FEMA-designated disaster zip codes. It assesses over 1,800 of these small businesses, nearly 750 of which faced natural disaster-related losses. It compares the demographics, experiences and needs of firms that were in natural disaster-affected areas but did not face damages to those that did. This report focuses on U.S. mainland firms. There will be a separate report on small businesses in Puerto Rico later this year.

Press Call About The Report On Disaster-Affected Firms:
Authors of the report will host a background press call on April 17 to provide further context on the research. Journalists interested in participating should RSVP to the following contacts:

Betsy Bourassa, New York Fed
betsy.bourassa@ny.frb.org

Jennifer Chamberlin, Dallas Fed
jennifer.chamberlain@dal.frb.org

Laura Fortunato, Richmond Fed
Laura.Fortunato@rich.frb.org

Laurel Gourd, San Francisco Fed

laurel.gourd@sf.frb.org