Small Business

recent survey reports
PODCAST
Cover of 2016 Small Business Credit Survey: Report on Startup Firms
Report on Startup Firms
Startups—small businesses that were five-years-old or younger in 2016 with full- or part-time employees—make up 34% of all small employer firms and are drivers of U.S. job growth. Results from the Small Business Credit Survey show that while startups have stronger growth and more optimism than mature firms, they have greater credit risk and experience more financial challenges.
2016 Puerto Rico Small Business Survey
Survey results depict a sector that is resilient but financially stressed. Focusing on business performance, financing needs, and borrowing experiences of small firms, the survey is designed to fill knowledge gaps and flag economic growth opportunities for the Commonwealth.
About Small Business

The New York Fed's efforts center around the Small Business Credit Survey, an annual national survey started by the New York Fed on the financing needs and experiences of small businesses, or firms with fewer than 500 employees. The New York Fed also hosts workshops on accessing capital for small business owners and convenes an advisory council of small business leaders in the Second District to advise the New York Fed on regional conditions.

What's Fed Small Business? Timely research, data and analysis on America's job creators
Past Survey Reports
Related New York Fed Content
Related External Content
Contacts
Kausar Hamdani, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President
212 720-8258
kausar.hamdani@ny.frb.org

Claire Kramer Mills, Ph.D.
Assistant Vice President & Director of Community Development Analysis
212 720-5371
claire.kramer@ny.frb.org

Scott Lieberman
Community Development Analysis
212 720-2629
scott.lieberman@ny.frb.org

Jessica Battisto
Community Development Analysis
212 720-5498
jessica.battisto@ny.frb.org

Rebecca Landau
Community Development Analysis
212 720-7897
rebecca.landau@ny.frb.org

Tony Davis
Community Affairs Officer & Director of Community Engagement
212 720-6369
tony.davis@ny.frb.org

Javier Silva
Community Engagement
212 720-2789
javier.silva@ny.frb.org

Marisa Casellas-Barnes
Community Engagement
212 720-7372
marisa.casellas-barnes@ny.frb.org

Kellye Jackson
Executive Assistant
212 720-1356
kellye.jackson@ny.frb.org